Pegasus Wins Waikiki Offshore Series

The 2005 Waikiki Offshore Series finished Saturday with two windward-leeward races off Waikiki. The medium trade winds and small seas were a welcome relief from the 8 – 12 foot seas and 35+ kts winds that challenged the racers all week.

Philippe Kahn’s Transpac 52 Pegasus turned in a stellar performance with 8 firsts out of 9 races. Winning first in Division 1 and first overall to earn the King Kamehameha Trophy. A hand-carved Koa wood replica of the Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Hokule’a. “I sail everywhere around the world and the conditions in Hawaii were the best: Winds from 15 to 35 knots and waves from 1 to 12 ft, tropical waters, and unbelievably beautiful scenery. It doesn’t get better than this!” said Kahn.

Click here for photos of Pegasus racing in the Waikiki Offshore Series

Charles Burnett’s Transpac 52 Braveheart finished 2nd in Division 1 and 3rd overall. Isao Mita’s R/P 72 Beecom finished 3rd in division 1 and 7th overall.

In Division 2, Dave Nottage’s J44 Kaimiloa III came back from a broken boom in Race 8 to finish first in Division 2 and second overall. Kaimiloa also won the award for Top Hawaiian Boat. John Myhre & Harvey Arkin’s Farr 43 Flash Gordon finished second in Division 2 and 5th overall. Gary Fanger’s 1D35 Sensation finished on a high note winning race 10 in class and overall to be the only boat in the fleet to beat Pegasus. They finished third in class and 4th overall.

The Hawaii Tourism Authority, Samson Ropes, Fullpower, and Bacardi Rum sponsor the Waikiki Offshore Series.